The Day I Picked My Humans


By Ella the Yorkie, 6 weeks old

It started out as a normal day.  I spent a lot of time playing with my siblings.  I wrestled, I tried to collect as may toys as I could and I tried my best to do all my ‘business’ in the designated spot.

When my breeders came home from work there seemed to be a flurry of activity…what is going on? I thought…  Could some humans be coming to see us?  I wonder….

After having some dinner I decided to take a little nap.  I dreamt about having a human of my own.  I had visions of a backyard to run in and perhaps some neighbor dogs to say hi to every now and then.

I was awakened by a strange noise.  I think it was voices.  But I never heard these voices before.  They sounded kind.  I was anxious to see who they belonged to.

I rested for a while as I waited and then I saw them.  Two new humans!  A woman human and a man human.  I couldn’t believe my eyes.  This is exactly what I have been waiting for!

The humans were very gentle.  They said hello to each of my siblings and to me.  It didn’t take long before I knew I had to have those humans.  I asked my siblings to play for a little bit but not to be too cute – and then, if possible, to please go back to sleep so the new humans could concentrate on me.

My siblings were very accommodating.  They did exactly what I asked…well, with the exception of Gigi.  Right when the humans were holding me and loving me she decided to get up from her nap.  I yelled to her, “please Gigi, they are mine!” she was half way out of the bed at this point, but she stopped dead in her tracks and pretended to sleep even though half her body was in the bed and the other half out.  I will have to remember to thank her later…and, she can always have the next humans that come.

When the woman human put me back down I wanted to show her what a good puppy I would be for them.  I made sure they were all looking and then I went over to the pee-pee pad and I went.  Oh, they were really impressed.  Everyone was cheering!

Then I decided to show them some tricks I could do with my octopus toy.  I’m sure they must think I am very talented.  Next time they picked me up I was sure to purr as loud as I could to let them know they were all mine.  I had to have them.

The breeders left the room so I could really check out the humans.  I spent some time with them and I was sure of my choice.  I was going to pick these humans.  I really had to be with them.  I let the humans know that they were exactly what I had been dreaming about for my whole life.  I told them to come back and get me early August.  I figured that would be enough time for me to be good and ready for them.

Now the countdown begins….only 3 ½ weeks until I can have my humans all to myself.

About Northern Virginia Yorkies

We are breeders of quality, AKC registered Yorkshire Terriers. We want to share with you our experiences, knowledge of the breed and other fun stuff along the way!
This entry was posted in Puppy, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

